CSA Week 1: Strawberry Icecream & Boston Salad

Posted on June 25, 2011

0


What I got:

Strawberries, Kale, Lots of fresh Boston bib lettuce, 2 garlic scapes.

The strawberry ice-cream picture I spotted on tastespotting, and I clicked down into the details. I liked the idea of putting sour-cream for a velvety texture, rather than the standard custard or simply cream ice-cream bases. I totally fudged it on the amount fresh strawberries I used…really didn’t think there could be too many in there…and the results were amazing. We ate it so fast it had no time to get anything resembling that nasty frostbite, but then again, I think the ingredients would have kept that from happening as it is…

Ice cream:

1 pound fresh strawberries

3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon vodka or kirsch (I left this out)
1 cup sour cream
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 teaspoon freshly squeezed lemon juice

Put it in the ice cream maker (I know, lazy) for 20 min, the freeze for 6 hrs or so before serving.

Exquisite.

And, the vodka is now out on the counter anyway…so I’ll have a white Russian, thank you very much.

The Boston salad recipe is a classic from summer’s past. The dressing, via New York Times (“Big Country Salad”), is to die for; simple and amazing with the best salad toppings ever: bacon, croutons, and blue cheese.

Boston Bib Lettuce

Croutons made fresh

Bacon (do I dare tell you I used or consumed the whole pack in this process…?Ryland)

Blue cheese sprinkled

Dressing:

1 tablespoon lemon juice

2 tablespoons red-wine vinegar

1 clove garlic, minced

2 teaspoons Dijon mustard

1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil

1/4 cup good-quality blue cheese, crumbled

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

