Toasted Coconut Oatmeal Muffins–with a surprise~

Posted on March 28, 2012

3



These muffins are from my past; deep in my childhood somewhere; close to my subconscious. This combination of hearty oats and a surprising burst of fruit flavor baked into a muffin lingers in my memories hauntingly. I thought of them, craved them, and went in search of an equivalent recipe on the world wide web of wonders; only to find that I had choices galore; between buttermilk, yogurt, strawberry jam, coconut or non-coconut (there was no question on that front). I bring you now, the fruit (pun intended) of some experimenting labors over several years.

Yes, I’m competing with the hype over at smitten kitchen for coconut muffins.

These are so hearty. I honestly like muffins to be as close to “the kitchen sink” as possible; morning glory with a heavy wheat flour and bran, extra-nuts-thrown-in-for-kicks etc any day over your dainty variety of single flavor (blueberry comes to mind) white flour muffin.

(Adapted from cooks.com–with quite a few embellishments)

1 c. oatmeal
1 c. yogurt (plain, or I used vanilla to nice effect)
a bit more than 3/4 c. whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 c. melted butter
1/2 c. brown sugar
1 egg
3/4 c. shredded coconut-toasted in 400 degree oven for 5-10 min
Strawberry preserves
Throw the oatmeal and yogurt together in a bowl for at least 30 min. I left it for 4 hours while we were at a play date which turned into fun dinner, drinking wine and letting the kids run wild…
Mix the butter, sugar, and egg, and then add toasted coconut.
Mix rest of dry ingredients together, and after combining the two bowls of wet ingredients, mix the flour mixture in patiently with a wooden spoon.
Then, fill less than half of each muffin tin with dough, and add a drop of strawberry preserves to each muffin cup. It’s tempting to go overboard with this part, but keep in mind that good things come in small packages…sometimes…
I added almond slices on top of some of the muffins as a fun extra–nice for more texture, since I told you that’s my thing for muffins.
You could also substitute some flaxseed for 1/4 c of the flour.
Bake for 20 min at 400, and enjoy warm. With tea, preferably.
Here’s a real picture of a whoops-lest you don’t believe me, and think this name is just a clever gimmick for a blog.
This is the first time I toasted the coconut. Still beautiful, but not tasty. At all.
Posted in: muffins