Molasses Crinkles, Or more appropriately, “Mookies”

Posted on April 24, 2012

3



Wanted to use up the multiple jars of Molasses in my pantry-as part of my “shop my own pantry” campaign, as well as the “reduce redundancies” campaign.

Why is it that I have two open bread crumbs containers, two half empty oatmeal canisters, and two open molasses jars? I know…it might have something to do with me and my kitchen habits…but let’s blame it on those high shelves that I couldn’t reach or see into (and thus didn’t account for when purchasing and opening redundants)…

This is going to be one of THOSE posts, complete with photos of my mistake–a big mistake–with this recipe. But there is a delicious ending so rest easy.

But first off, let me tell you the story as it happened. I found this great blog, Home is Where the Cookies Are, and figured I could use that recipe as inspiration…

As per usual, began running between my fridge, pantry and the office to look at instructions on the screen–always exciting around here.

However, I had only 1 stick butter, so I had to be creative. Was NOT going to let that stop me. I substituted coconut oil (so 1/3 butter and 2/3 oil when doubling recipe)…and the result was what I can only truly call, a MOOKIE.

Not quite a cookie…more like a muffin.

Think molasses decadence with a melt-in-your-mouth brownie crumb consistency. And you can have two of them because coconut oil is some of the best stuff out there for you.

If you’re still interested, read on…

The "After" picture. See below.

Adapted from Betty Crocker, via Home is Where the Cookies Are

Ingredients:

3/4 cup butter or coconut oil, or both…
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup molasses
1 egg
2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour (could also try whole wheat, using 1/3 c less if substituting completely)
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon ginger
1/2 teaspoon cloves
1/4 teaspoon salt
 Granulated sugar

Mix butter/oil, sugar, molasses and then eggs in a bowl until smooth. Stir in remaining ingredients except granulated sugar.

Cover and refrigerate 2 hrs minimum.

Bake as regular cookies if you used butter…but for the oil…don’t recommend it…

Oven at 375, use muffin tins with liners or lightly greased; Roll dough into balls and press gently into muffin cups…they will spread to fill the shape but you can help them look nice on the front end…I sprinkled with sugar and they went into the oven for about 15 minutes…but don’t quote me on that…

Yes, this is the promised "Before" picture; the warning to those of you who think that you can treat them like normal cookies, even with coconut oil...

