Bran Muffins-In Honor of my Mom

Posted on May 19, 2012

0



Happy Mothers Day Everyone! (Yes, I know, a few days late…)

As my siblings can attest to, my mom loves Bran muffins. She would always grab them from QFC bakeries and other shops to eat with her morning coffee. I remember the Safeway variety so vividly; moist, the perfect color and consistency; we would nibble on them all day long…Sometimes in the afternoon I’d walk by and see a topless muffin, which someone had mauled in a moment when no one was looking…

Reading a recent post about nutritious and quick breakfasts for my toddler when we are running late in the morning reminded me that I love Bran muffins. So here goes. I’m using the recipe from Bob’s Red Mill Wheat Bran as the starting point…and then deviating…

Bran Muffins with Raisins, Nuts and Coconut (and carrot applesauce)

1 cup Bob’s Red Mill Wheat bran–sure, I can advertise for them, why not; the price was right, and I like their stuff normally…

1  cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup white flour

1/2 cup raisins

1 tsp baking powder

dash of salt

1 tsp soda (presumably baking soda!?? Feel free to experiment with Dr Pepper if that is more suited to you…Bridgette!)

3/4 cup milk (or buttermilk)

1/2 cup honey (molasses was another suggestion, but I don’t recommend it with my other recipe tweaks that follow…)

2 tbsp coconut oil, liquid…

1 egg beaten

1/2 cup applesauce (I used carrot applesauce from Trader Joes for extra interest)

Dash of vanilla (1/2 tsp) just because I can’t imagine a baking recipe without it. Seriously. This is my addition.

Could also add chopped nuts, like walnuts, if you so desire.

Stir together bran, flour, soda, baking powder, salt. Stir in raisins and set aside (probably out of reach of the toddler in the house if you want things to end better than they did for me).

Blend milk, molasses, oil, egg, vanilla, applesauce, etc.

Add to dry ingredients and stir JUST UNTIL MOISTENED (emphasis is not my own).

Spoon into greased muffin tins and bake in preheated 400 degree oven, roughly 15 minutes.

This makes 12 muffins-in fact it does, perfectly, unlike those other recipes that make 10 or 15 and leave one feeling very confused.

This recipe was a bit of a crazy experience; that’s what comes from cooking with a precocious toddler at bedtime instead of reading her books and settling her down with “Shaun sheep”. The results were: one egg on the floor (and another two rescued and cooked for dinner…), bran/flour on the floor. I hardly had time to pick up the camera, that’s how crazy things were for 5 minutes.

And yet again, I laughed to myself at how this blog is a self-fulfilling prophecy.

Now on to the next adventure, it will probably be something besides a breakfast food, as I’ve been really over-doing it on the scone/muffin/cake/pastry front…Or maybe it will be the baklava I’ve been wanting to tell you about for nearly a month…!

Disclaimer: this picture looks like it contains carrots. It does. The second go round at these (yesterday) I decided that carrots would be a wonderful addition; they are. Be creative to make your own favorite variety of bran muffins.

And this picture caught my fancy…so I’m sharing it…

Posted in: muffins