Fall Flashbacks: Summer Squash meets Fall Textures

Posted on December 18, 2012

0



Fall Flashbacks: I’ve promised to work on sharing some recipes and fun photos from the months when I was missing in action…

Here’s a start. Perfect for this time of year too, with a holiday tea, or cup of fresh coffee–at any time of the day–or night, in my case–as the to-do lists pile high and Santa’s elves seem to be slacking on the job–leaving me with lots to do:)

DSC_0120

Healthy Zucchini Bread

I dare you to use less sugar-or replace half of it with stevia or honey…worked fine for me.

2.5 cups whole wheat flour
2 cups turbinado sugar (or other sweeteners)
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt

4 large eggs, room temperature

1/2 cup coconut oil, plus more for the pans
1/2 cup sour cream or I used yogurt…
1/3 cup water
2 cups grated zucchini
Wedge of lemon–squeeze on zucchini

Walnuts to sprinkle on top.

Obvious additional element–as you can see from photo–some semi-sweet chocolate chips.

(the lemon wedge is a neat idea–right?)

Mix wet ingredients together.

Combine dry ingredients–and then–gently fold in to wet.

Bake for 40-50 min at 325.

I truly can’t remember a particular “whoops” moment with this–but then it’s been so long, which in itself is a food blog disaster move. Well. Tomorrow is a new day. And a cookie party. With toddlers. Stay tuned for the footage on that–once I recover!

Posted in: Bread, Quick