So I finally made the yorkshire pudding

Posted on December 28, 2012

1



Considering that I adore this Christmas dish, and every part of my (English?) heritage* drools after it as soon as the Christmas breakfast coma has worn off…It’s interesting that I have probably made it only once in my life.

There are always a handful of eager and talented Ryland cooks ready to jump in and do it, so I have often stood on the sidelines. But this year, when I offered (threatened) to introduce this tradition to my Southern family–it required a bit of appropriate research–and even the no-fail—“texting a friend”.
The prime rib we had left some succulent crunchy bits in the pan, and we did expand the drippings a bit by adding water–with no adverse effects on the flavor.

primerib2012
Ingredients:
1 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
2 Tbsp melted butter
2 eggs, beaten*
2-4 Tbsp of roast drippings

Instructions:
1 Sift together the flour and salt in a large bowl. Form a well in the center. Add the milk, melted butter, and eggs and beat until the batter is completely smooth (no lumps), the consistency of whipping cream. Let sit for an hour (cough–I’m sure on busy Christmas days in our house this never happened, and it always tasted fine. However, if you feel up for it, give it a whirl).

2 Heat oven to 450°F. Add roast drippings to a 9×12-inch pyrex or ceramic casserole dish, coating the bottom of the dish. Heat the dish in the oven for 10 minutes.

For a popover version you can use a popover pan or a muffin pan, putting at least a teaspoon of drippings in the bottom of each well, and place in oven for just a couple minutes.

3 Carefully pour the batter into the pan (or the wells of muffin/popover pans, filling just 1/3 full), once the pan is hot. Cook for 15 minutes at 450°F, then reduce the heat to 350°F and cook for a few more minutes, until puffy and golden brown.
(The recipe said another 15 min but in reality I did it for just another 3 min or so)

DSC_0210

Cut into squares to serve.

Yield: Serves 6

Or 3, depending on how much your intended audience likes it!

*More on my dubious links to the land of Rye, etc in another post…English or not–I have to claim the dry humor as my own–but not the dry foods–except for a few Christmas related dishes such as this!

Posted in: Quick, Sizzling Sides