D is for Detox

Posted on February 1, 2013

4



I just went through a wonderful whole foods 12 day detox.

Yep, after the holidays I knew I could use a little help…I was eating and craving the stuff I knew wasn’t good for me and babe–so time to reset and bring back the good habits–and hopefully even build on them towards better habits:) I did my first detox in August. That one was intense and somewhat miserable during the nearly 21 day detox, as I experienced headaches, fatigue, and all the symptoms that major detoxing was happening in my body. I felt like a totally different person afterwards–and proceeded to train for and run a 1/2 marathon in the 8 weeks following that.

This detox was gently guided by the health rockstars at Urban Detox Club, and I was happily surprised that I had a relatively smooth and joyous experience eliminating dairy, meat, gluten and sweets (except for one day when pregnancy cravings for pizza raged against the offered goods of the day–black bean soup and hummus. Pizza might have won…but hey, that’s life.)

I noticed a big uptick in energy levels around day 3, lasting through to day 10…fascinating…so I have more energy when I don’t have animal products in my diet?…hmm…something to think more about…(as I eat a butter laden piece of homemade bread while I type this…)

Kale is a detox staple--amazing roasted with oil, salt, and a touch of raw sugar..

Kale is a detox staple–amazing roasted with oil, salt, and a touch of raw sugar..

Anyway, thanks for letting me share my experience with you. I truly believe many faddish juice cleanses etc out there do more harm than good in the sense that your body is in shock when you stop eating altogether, and while some bodily goods may come from the detox itself, it’s not clear what good habits are formed. This other method–that of filling your life with wholesome vegetarian awesomeness–taught myself and those who did it with me (yay)–some valuable lessons about nutrition and healthy habits that we can carry with us–and was in general gentle on our systems–hence, I was able to do it while pregnant–with extra guidance from the UDC coaches.

I’m excited to share some of my recipes with you. Some of these were inspired by other awesome healthy friends, and all of them were prepped throughout the week so I tried to keep anything from being time intensive…that is often the biggest thing holding us busy New Yorkers back—we think–well what WILL I eat if not pastries and coffee? And will that require time in my kitchen?

In this post:

Chickpea/Avocado Salad

Broiled Flounder

Gluten Free Banana muffins—to die for

So this salad was inspired by an old friend who has some amazing new eating habits–I’m constantly inspired by what she shares on FB–reminds me that taking joy in healthy living is something we owe to ourselves, and should share with those we love! It’s just that simple.

DSC_0009

CHICKPEA AVOCADO SALAD

1 can chickpeas

3-4 cloves pressed garlic (raw–that’s right–how much can you handle–because it’s a super food)

onion–1 small

2 avocados, diced small

Dressing:

-Cilantro

-Olive oil

-Lemon

-Balsamic (I used a lemon balsamic)

-Salt/pepper

You’re essentially making a cilantro pesto–and then combining all ingredients. It packs quite a taste punch so adjust to your sensibilities especially the garlic and onion. Oh, and maybe not the best date night food?

DSC_0015

BROILED FLOUNDER w VEGGIES

I loved seeing my family devour the meal of broiled fish and tons o’ steamed veggies one night (which was my guided detox dinner). Turns out, E loves fish? Well, guess we’ll be doing that again soon. Flounder is a wonderful low-mercury fish and when you can find deals on it (thanks Fresh Direct) can be a reasonable price.

2-4 Flounder steaks, placed on a lightly oiled (olive oil) baking sheet

Sprinkle lemon, rosemary, salt and pepper–I encourage you to be creative if you have grey salt for example, or a specialty pepper–like my beloved TJ’s flower pepper…if you are feeling crazy–try some pine nuts as well…

Broil for about 20 min–flip once–depends alot on thickness, etc.

photo (9)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And finally–my gluten and sugar free masterpiece–the banana muffins. I was steeling myself against all the snacking urges that myself and my detoxing coworker would be getting…so I made a bunch of these to have on hand. They do have eggs in them, but otherwise totally detox approved. Next time I’ll be brave and leave out the eggs.

GLUTEN AND SUGAR FREE BANANA MUFFINS

Adapted (read; totally changed) from Epicurious

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/3 c maple syrup
  • 1/3 c honey (preferably raw)
  • 1 cup smashed ripe bananas (about 3 medium)
  • 1/3 cup almondmilk or coconut milk
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cups almond and other GF flours–a combination is nice–I even threw in a touch of xantham…
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • walnuts are optional but delicious

Oven at 400

Mix wet ingredients in mixer.

Combine dry ingredients.

Stir together until just combined–still a little lumpy is fine.

Pour into muffin tins and bake.

Try not to eat them all at once…

DSC_0024

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Coming up next:

Black Rice, Broccoli & Sweet Potato casserole

Carrot Ginger Soup w/ Sriracha sauce

