LOVE

Posted on February 15, 2013

1



On this, the day when love is celebrated the world ’round…I wanted to share with you some fun recipes that we did to mark this as special in our household (and shared with schools, office, friends:)).

First, I want to note that if FOOD could be considered the 6th love language, it would be mine. Everyone who knows me, knows how much I love to feed them. It’s impulsive and constant (am I secretly an Italian grandma?) and is now twinged with a layer of “I want to feed you things that are yummy and HEALTHY so you thank me down the road…”

Well, that’s who I am. And I’m grateful to those in my life who humor me in aforementioned impulses.
Hopefully along the way (since it’s lent we’ll talk this way) I can continue to remove the pride from my cooking, and make it even more about service and others and less about self (even though some levels of satisfaction may exist…)

Work in progress. Just like my kitchen…always could use a bit of tidying. But, as with this blog–airing the mess is part of that process of acceptance and then hopefully an increase in humility and humor. Both of which I need big time in order to fully live the life given to me.

DSC_0117

First off–I will share with you the attempt. It seemed like a great idea on pinterest

But here’s how ours turned out…pretty yummy…but arguably–from an aesthetic perspective–not the best way to show a special someone that you love them…

DSC_0001 (2)

Yogurt Covered Strawberries

Container of Greek yogurt–vanilla

Strawberries–with or without stems

Dip strawberries in the yogurt and attempt to get them evenly covered. put on a parchment lined baking sheet and throw in the freezer to harden. Bring out 30 min before serving to let them thaw–no one really likes eating totally frozen strawberries…

cutie blurry sous chef

cutie blurry sous chef

And Emma’s school friends were pretty not into them. So much for being the healthy mom–I shoulda just given them candy(!)

(This is in the vein of always showing you my whoops’s–the blog has been much too clean and picture perfect as of late…)

And then…my successful recipe. Also inspired by Pinterest…recipe adapted from the clever folks over at Two Peas and their Pod. My version obviously substitutes coconut oil ’cause I’m cool like that. I am very much in love with red velvet in most forms, the yogurt flavor at Momofuko’s being a slight exception (you can grant me that, right?). This post will definitely force a flashback post out of me–the cupcakes I made for Emily’s wedding a while back.

Red Velvet Heart Cookies

1 box red velvet cake mix (I used Duncan Hines)
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 large eggs
1/2 cup coconut oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Powdered sugar, for rolling the cookies
Heart shaped cookie cutter, optional

While oven heats to 350, line baking sheet with parchment. Throw cake mix from box in a mixing bowl with extra flour–don’t ask–it works!–and whisk to get the biggest lumps out. Then add wet ingredients and combine.

Roll balls and cover liberally with powdered sugar, experiment with size depending on how big your cookie cutters are, but definitely air on the side of bigger is better with these–they didn’t spread on the pan as much as I expected them to.

Bake for 10 minutes. Let cool briefly–for 1-2 minutes, but while warm, use cookie cutter to press heart shapes out of them.

DSC_0125

Then transfer to a cooling rack or tinfoil in my case, and eat the scraps. Obviously.

Enjoy, and hope you had a happy heart day!

