Champagne Chicken. Or “Waste not, want not”

Posted on March 3, 2013

1



I know the title is a bit incongruous. Ha.
Well, I’m really in a phase of trying to use well all the foods we have around—it helps me push the creativity envelope (this could be a good example of that) and also is in keeping with how we’re trying to live–simply and joyfully. Strict(ish) grocery budget. Penny Parsnip provides alot of inspiration to me in this vein. It’s amazing what happens when we challenge ourselves to do more with less. We do it! And often have more fun while doing it.

So when faced with half a champagne bottle languishing in my fridge–and in my condition I can’t exactly tip that back in one sitting…I decide to plan my weekend dinner party meal around it and have fun with the process and the outcome.

For those of you who are waiting for vegan/”clean”/low-calorie recipes promised here–wait a bit longer and perhaps go do some yoga while I finish sharing this post…

And I’m also gonna share the recipe for the accompanying (also dangerously rich) “Spanakopita” that I made to use up leftovers like cottage cheese and random cheese scraps we had lying around–hmm and yes the spinach and phyllo were sitting in the freezer waiting for an excuse to be used…

Champagne Chicken

Adapted from Food.com

8 (8 ounce) pieces boneless skinless chicken breasts
1/3 cup flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon white pepper or regular if that’s all you have…
1/4 cup butter
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 1/2 cups champagne (don’t even ask what you do with the remaining champagne!<<–this is not my original note but YES. Don’t ask)
1 cup whipping cream
1 teaspoon ground rosemary
1 teaspoon chopped parsley

(my kind of directions, very straightforward)

Flatten chicken and dust with the flour, salt and pepper.

In a very large skillet Melt butter and olive oil together over medium heat.

Add chicken and saute 5 minutes, turn and add the champagne, continue to cook for 12-15 minutes.

Add the cream and rosemary and cook until thickened.

Remove to a serving plate, pour sauce over chicken and garnish with parsley.

