Easter Brussel Sprouts

Posted on April 20, 2013

0



Paris food posts coming soon! I’m still dreaming in cafe au laits, croissants, and escargot (in that order).

But meanwhile, there are a few recipes from earlier this month that I can’t bypass…

This Brussel sprouts recipe is pretty neatly adapted from Food and Wine, one of my favorite sources of regular inspiration (and at 11pm on the night before Easter, wasn’t in the mood for too much variation, as I made 3 recipes simultaneously). As I try to navigate the fine line between delicious and healthy–I will sometimes find myself making adaptations in favor of the latter, but they often are right with me in terms of providing fun, original, veggie-heavy fare (so potentially “clean”) and always with the fun layer of what’s new and hip in the culinary and dining world. I also adore how they help with wine knowledge by listing recipes by pairings, and the articles they feature around wine are always fascinating and informative. Anyway, enough of a rant. They are not paying me to say all these good things:)

Picture courtesy of F & W

Picture courtesy of F & W

On Easter, I knew we would be among friends, have a delicious ICI brunch per our tradition…and then heading back to our friends’ home for an egg hunt, wine and champagne, and snacks. When my friend asked me to bring something healthy, I thought about what would both pair well with wines, was in season, and would also pack a nutritional punch–especially in the area of fighting inflammation (and helping with digestion) after a rich French brunch…Yes, I’m becoming a foodie/nutrition nerd…

Brussel sprouts are packed with Vitamin K, Vitamin C, and Folate. They are known for their ability to help with detoxification and digestion, and even preventing cancer (!). Read more here, or just cut straight to the fun stuff…

This makes alot of this dish, so if you’re not sure you are going to like it, cut it in half…And very easy to make vegan by replacing the pancetta with high quality tofu…

3 pounds brussels sprouts

6 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

6 shallots, thinly sliced (1 1/2 cups)

2 ounces thickly sliced pancetta, cut into 1/4-inch dice. I think you can use bacon just as well…

Kosher salt

1/4 cup oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, drained and chopped

Dash of parmesan cheese at the end (Joel’s addition)

  1. In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook the brussels sprouts until crisp-tender (love that description), about 5 minutes. Drain and pat dry. Cut the brussels sprouts in half lengthwise.
  2. In a large, deep skillet, heat 2 tablespoons of the oil. Add the shallots and cook over moderately low heat, stirring, until lightly browned, 10 minutes; scrape into a bowl.
  3. Add the remaining 1/4 cup of oil to the skillet. Add the brussels sprouts, cut side down, and the pancetta. Season with salt and cook over high heat, stirring occasionally, until the sprouts are browned and tender, 10 minutes. Add the sun-dried tomatoes and shallots and cook, stirring, until warm, 5 minutes. Season with salt, transfer to a bowl and serve.

Enjoy! Pairs well with pork loin as a main, or with hard boiled eggs (yep, tried it ourselves) and/or the bold red wines we were drinking (Pinots, Grenaches). Next time I’m making this nommy-looking recipe…Be inspired! And enjoy letting food be your medicine.

