Flourless Chocolate Cake

Posted on May 22, 2013

0



Disclaimer–this post has some real photo goofiness only to be expected around the Mags Ryland…

This recipe is a wonderful blast from the past…I still remember the first time I had it…a good friend’s bday party at our old apt, my cousin visiting; a sunny afternoon of laughter and friends exploring Brooklyn…coming to rest–with an appetite—at our place, for wine and delectable hor d’oeuvres.

Since then, I’ve made it for many a GF sister bday party (yes, that’s a category in my life-don’t laugh), or other occasion when nothing less-rich will do! Because it’s so stinkin’ simple, I can make it on the fly at other people’s houses. Yes, a nice party trick.

Flour? Who needs when you have butter. And. chocolate.

I find it funny that the source website for this recipe is french…and absolutely can’t imagine it any other way at the same time.

I’m giving you the standard measurements, and encouraging you that even without a double boiler, this is easy and worth it.

Watch out for your hair in the egg whites, darling!

Watch out for your hair in the egg whites, darling!

Flourless Chocolate Cake

7oz semisweet chocolate (45-50 % cocoa)–these come in packets of 8 so you’ll always have a little inspirational nugget for the next batch…(Or try using cacao instead if you have that around–let me know how it goes).

4/5 cup butter (Seriously? Eyeball it)

1 cup sugar

4 eggs, separated

Break the chocolate into small pieces and melt it with butter over hot water (ie, double boiler if you have one), stirring regularly.

Beat the egg yolks with half of the sugar.

Fold in the melted butter and chocolate mixture to the egg yolk/sugar mixture.

photo (28)

Line a 9 in cake pan with greaseproof or other non-stick paper and grease the tin…by which I mean you can forgo the paper and just butter the heck out of that pan–it will be fine. I actually use square pans more frequently to evoke a brownie; this is the decadent, healthy cousin of the brownie…

Beat egg whites until frothy by using an electric mixer; gradually add the remaining sugar, beating until stiff peaks form.

I'm demonstrating that the egg whites should defy gravity...

I’m demonstrating that the egg whites should defy gravity…

Fold in the beaten egg whites.

Bake at 350 degrees until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean, approximately 40 minutes.

It suggests to serve the cake warm or cold with whipped cream, to which I add–it rarely makes it to cool before it’s been consumed. And this is one of the few times I’ll suggest against the whipped cream–it’s so heavenly without it…it really doesn’t need it…but hey, it’s your waistline…

Now to figure out a way to make it not have white sugar…? 

Posted in: Dessert, Gluten Free