Flashback: Banana Muffins for my 1 yr old lady!

Posted on October 8, 2014

0



Preface to this post. This has been quite a hectic summer. It’s quite lovely now to be laying here on our new couch in our new place, hearing the rain tapping restlessly even as I rest and considering mainly whether I should go and make some more of these muffins. The posting of the recipe is happening months after the big day, but the fact that I’m seriously considering making more now at this late hour should convince you that these are worth every simple minute of prep time.

The occasion was an adorable little girl’s first birthday party, held in the park, over a holiday weekend, during the summer of a move—well, we needed something quick, easy, kid approved, and healthy for the health coach momma:) We got all of that with this lovely recipe from my dear friend Anja over at Mommy Beauty Tips. It will knock your socks off. And the frosting is a lovely surprise–keep reading.

Celebrating a year of monkeying around

 

Monkeying Around Banana Muffins

2cups all purpose flour (I substitute coconut flour as a gluten free option–plus coconut is delicious!)
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
Pinch of salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
3 large ripe bananas
1 egg
1/3 cup organic brown sugar (or cane or coconut sugar for a different consistency/experience–I like having options, as you know)
1/4 organic coconut oil
1/4 cup organic chocolate chips or raisins (Seriously–don’t use raisins–that will not taste as good…healthy shouldn’t be confused with dumb)

Oven: 375
Time: 20-25

Mash the bananas mix the with wet ingredients
Add dry ingredients
Bake!
Yum yum
Hope you enjoy it  I also added some apple sauce to make it a little bit more moist.

PS—Those are my kind of instructions.

Then, we had to find a suitable frosting. Well, I wanted something very delicious and yet with low to no sugar…I had some dates lying around…so voila–a date sweetened frosting. It’s legit good–I really don’t want to go back to icky-sweet frostings after this one. All the guests at the party were raving about it–I love love surprising people with something so yummy they can’t get over that it’s really good for them. Why do we have to assume the two don’t go together? Let’s fix that.

Anyway–if you are choosing between making frosting or muffins, probably make the frosting.

It’s adapted from a carrot cake pairing over at Healthy Happy Life, but I didn’t use vegan cream cheese or butter, so the recipe is officially transformed…#confessionsofafoodblogger. And #hashtaglover as my husband teases me.

Cream Cheese Frosting:
8 ounces cream cheese
4 ounces butter
1 1/4 cups pitted dates
pinch salt (optional)

 

Let the cream cheese and butter soften as close to room temperature. Blend in dates with the stand mixer, and then cover/store/eat.

#Enjoy!

Here are some pictures of the messy preparation (in keeping with the spirit of the blog, it’s only fair). I may or may not have been baking another cake simultaneously, followed quickly by zucchini muffins—recipe will be shared soon #whynot #batchcook #whoopsyummy

monkey3

I heart my stand mixer

monkeyhelper

Offering me a banana…and a snot serving? Yikes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Falling in love

Falling in love

Daddy's girl

Daddy’s girl

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My sweetie babe

My sweetie babe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pinata!!

Pinata!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

B-day face

B-day face

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks to Melanie for being my very best taste-tester, the photographer behind some of these photos, and a wonderful friend and house guest. This blog post is dedicated to her.

Bon Appetite!

 

